First time in print

18 Dec

Gutter one

Gutter 2

Sort of. I was a newspaper reporter in Tyler, Texas, briefly, and, technically, I was in print almost every day with one or more articles bearing the byline Mike Monson. And, that was a thrill, it never got old to pick up the Tyler Courier-Times and see my reporting and writing and my name. Some people like that sort of thing I guess and I’m definitely one of those people. But, that was in 1983, and it never happened again due to a series of fuck ups on my part. (okay, in 1986 I got some freelance articles into the San Clemente Calfornia  weekly newspaper and when I was at Gallo Winery in the mid-90s working in employee and corporate communications I had by-lined articles in the employee newspaper and other publications but those don’t count)

However, I’ve never had any of my fiction, any creative writing published in print before this (except for the fact that corporate writing is somewhat fictional and very creative, especially the quotes).

Anyway, I like it. I like it very much. And, there is more to come in 2013.

Buy this book and read my story Hot Cups and please tell me what you think. (There is no comments section in print or on Kindle). It is based upon a business in Modesto called “Bottoms Up Espresso” where bikini and lingerie-glad women sell caffeine to horny men.

Thank you Joe Clifford.

Thank you Tom Pitts. — he literary told me to write a story to enter into the 20th Century Digital Love, or Digital Rage contest. Before then I knew about the contest but for some reason hadn’t been interested in entering probably because I was afraid of getting rejected. 

Thank you Rebecca Monson. You are beautiful.

3 Responses to “First time in print”

  1. Brian Panowich December 18, 2012 at 1:42 pm #

    It’s a kick ass feeling bro. And you deserve it. You’re a monster writer.

  2. clirvin December 19, 2012 at 10:38 am #

    Congrats! It’s great to be published online or in an ebook, but there is something really special about paper.

Leave a Reply

Tom Caswell

Writer // Musician // Traveller

mermaidmaehem

The Fire-breathing Mermaid

joelmurrauthor

Joe L. Murr

AshEdit—News About Books & Writers

News about books and writers by Elaine Ash

Brian Hunter

Information about and writings by author, Brian Hunter.

MULTIGLOM

The Anne Billson blog

everythingnoir

Movies, Television, Books....Everything Noir

S.W. Lauden

Crime + Mystery + Interviews

Aida Manduley, MSW

presenter | therapist| educator | activist

I Love Dulcie

Erotic series for lovers of sexy cheating wives and sexual awakenings

Tantra Bensko's Genre Fiction

A writing Instructor muses on the adventure of following Genre to its edges

SOMETHING IS GOING TO HAPPEN

The editor of EQMM and guests blog about suspense, short stories, and the mystery-fiction scene.

Ryter Rong

The life of a writer.

Michael Pool

Neo Noir and Crime Fiction Author

