Updates on the fascinating world of Mike Monson — writer

20 Jan

Since I know that one or two of you actually give a shit about this, here goes:

On February 15, my story Service of Process (about a San Francisco process server who has to serve a deposition subpoena on a particularly difficult former mobster) will appear in the ever-wonderful Shotgun Honey

Also, my story Criminal Love will be published in the All Due Respect story anthology to be put out any day now by Full Dark City Press

Next, in March, All Due Respect will publish my story Victor Blank Is A Sonofabitch, and on March 29th, Shotgun Honey will publish my story Tough Love. 

Also, sometime in the next several months the Near to the Knuckle anthology will appear and it will include my very creepy story An Evening In Sin City. 

Oh, and sometime in the coming weeks, I’m not sure when exactly, the precocious Slit Your Wrists will post my very short flash story Work Ethic. 

And, in April, the story Bitch Mother is set to be included in Yellow Mama

On February 8, I will be one of the readers at Joe Clifford’s Lip Service West. I will be reading the mostly-true story of my brother’s death. I really like that I get to be included in this event. What a great thing. If you are anywhere near Berkeley that night, please come, Joe said if I didn’t bring 10 people he would cut off my thumb. 

Also, I might be on a podcast in March, but I don’t want to say anything until it is more confirmed because I don’t want to look like an even bigger asshole than I usually do. 

Okay, my novel. Not sure about this right now. It is at 12,000 words at the moment, which is  really too long for a short story and way too short for a novel or even a novella. Fellow writer Brian Panowich was kind enough to read my first draft and he provided me  with some very usefull notes. So, at this point I’m trying to decide whether to really dig in and make the thing a full-blown novel or novella at 20, 30, 40,000 words, or, instead, cut it down some and package it as a longer short story in a collection along with all my other Modesto crime/noir stories. I’ll think I’ll try both and see how it goes. 

Image

 

 

Image

One Response to “Updates on the fascinating world of Mike Monson — writer”

  1. erikarneson January 20, 2013 at 8:10 pm #

    Looking forward to reading all of these, Mike. Congratulations on what is shaping up to be a great 2013.

Leave a Reply

Tom Caswell

Writer // Musician // Traveller

mermaidmaehem

The Fire-breathing Mermaid

joelmurrauthor

Joe L. Murr

AshEdit—News About Books & Writers

News about books and writers by Elaine Ash

Brian Hunter

Information about and writings by author, Brian Hunter.

MULTIGLOM

The Anne Billson blog

everythingnoir

Movies, Television, Books....Everything Noir

S.W. Lauden

Crime + Mystery + Interviews

Aida Manduley, MSW

presenter | therapist| educator | activist

I Love Dulcie

Erotic series for lovers of sexy cheating wives and sexual awakenings

Tantra Bensko's Genre Fiction

A writing Instructor muses on the adventure of following Genre to its edges

SOMETHING IS GOING TO HAPPEN

The editor of EQMM and guests blog about suspense, short stories, and the mystery-fiction scene.

Ryter Rong

The life of a writer.

Michael Pool

Neo Noir and Crime Fiction Author

