I wrote a book

11 Mar

Yes, that is right.

Yesterday afternoon I basically completed the writing of a novella. It is nearly 23,000 words.

It is my first one.

I still need to tweak a few passages, and it needs some copy editing and a lot of proofreading, but, essentially, the thing is written.  I think it might be ready to send out in as little as two weeks — maybe four.

It is a nice feeling.

I think I am going to call it The Scent of New Death, though I’m not certain on that.

It is a crime novel. It is dark, creepy and violent. There is also a strong spiritual element. It might be pretty good and it might just completely suck but the great thing for me is that I did it. I wrote it and I wrote it to move fast, to be lean and easy to read and to be as empty as possible of long-winded boring stuff about the weather and food and descriptions of  foliage and furniture and people’s feelings (beyond the spare sentence or two here or there). I’m not sure if I succeeded, or even if I did if any one will like it or publish it. But fuck it, I’m still so happy that I wrote it.

I want to keep writing novels. It’s fun and it makes being alive better.

 

8 Responses to “I wrote a book”

  1. Ron Earl Phillips March 11, 2013 at 7:56 am #

    Congrats, Mike!

  2. Dyer Wilk (@DyerWilk) March 11, 2013 at 7:59 am #

    Congrats, Mike. Time for a celebratory beer.

  3. Sam March 11, 2013 at 8:03 am #

    Who are you going to send this out to? I’m not aware of a lot of places publishing 23,000-word novellas, though I don’t have an encyclopedic knowledge of such things. Something of that length is just right for self-publication, though.

  4. Mike Monson March 11, 2013 at 8:06 am #

    Sam: I know of at least five independant publishers specializing in crime/noir who ask for books of 20,000 words or more. I can send you links to their submission pages maybe on FB or to your email.

    • Sam March 11, 2013 at 8:09 am #

      I’m honestly surprised. Not too long ago, something that length would have been considered unpublishable: too long for a magazine, too short for a printed book. But I guess with the shift to electronic delivery, everything has changed.

      Congrats, though. It’s always an accomplishment to finish something.

  5. Isaac Kirkman March 11, 2013 at 8:43 am #

    Health issues and deadlines have narrowed what I can work on, but well done, Congrats man!

  6. Tim Brookover March 17, 2013 at 3:07 pm #

    Congratulations, Mike! That is an accomplishment and, I know, a goal for you. Proud of you. I like “It makes being alive better.”

    • Mike Monson March 17, 2013 at 7:26 pm #

      Thanks Tim. If you ever want to read it I can email it to you. It’s very much a violent crime thriller and I’m not sure you like that sort of thing.

Leave a Reply

Tom Caswell

Music Journalist, Music Historian & Author

mermaidmaehem

The Fire-breathing Mermaid

joelmurrauthor

Joe L. Murr

AshEdit—News About Books & Writers

News about books and writers by Elaine Ash

Brian Hunter

Information about and writings by author, Brian Hunter.

MULTIGLOM

The Anne Billson blog

everythingnoir

Movies, Television, Books....Everything Noir

S.W. Lauden

Crime + Mystery + Interviews

Aida Manduley, MSW

presenter | therapist| educator | activist

I Love Dulcie

Erotic series for lovers of sexy cheating wives and sexual awakenings

Tantra Bensko's Genre Fiction

A writing Instructor muses on the adventure of following Genre to its edges

SOMETHING IS GOING TO HAPPEN

The editor of EQMM and guests blog about suspense, short stories, and the mystery-fiction scene.

Ryter Rong

The life of a writer.

Michael Pool

Neo Noir and Crime Fiction Author

