The Shill: bookxy book preview #4

11 Apr

I’ve now read six of the recent novellas releases from Stark Raving Group and bookxy.com. Click here to see all the other previews, information about the publisher, and an explanation about why these are previews rather than reviews. Okay? Great.

 

ShillCover2000x3000_1024x1024

 

I really enjoyed The Shill by John Shepphird (get it here from bookxy or here from Amazon). I read it about a week ago all in one sitting but since my computer crashed recently and I just now got a new one, I’ve had to wait to do my preview.

The novella, like all the bookxy books I’ve read so far, wastes no time in getting to the point of the story and then sticks completely to telling that story as briskly, entertainingly, and consistently as possible. It is the tale of a con told from the perspective of a young aspiring actress in Los Angeles. She gets lured into a complicated ‘long con’ by a handsome older man. The plot of the book and the con is fascinating and intricate  and the entire time I was reading I kept thinking “How the hell did Shepphird think of all this? There is no way could write something like this.”

The book is full of violence and sex and surprises from all over. It is the very definition of a ‘fun read.’

2 Responses to “The Shill: bookxy book preview #4”

  1. tonybulmer April 22, 2014 at 9:30 am #

    Re your comments What Happens in Reno. Great story. I don’t think you should be discouraged by Amazon rankings etc. Just keep writing. I know a number of authors who wrote book after book and got nowhere. RJ Ellory wrote 20 before he had mainstream success. James Lee Burke got so discouraged he gave up writing for 12 years. Elmore Leonard once said a writer has to write a million words before he finds his “voice” I dunno about that. What I do know is the publishing industry continues to change radically and books that might have remained bottom draw classics can now easily become the best sellers of tomorrow. Passion and belief is all that matters.

  2. Mike Monson April 22, 2014 at 9:43 am #

    Thanks Tony. That’s the kind of thing I need to hear. I deleted that post because I thought it seemed whiny.

Leave a Reply

Tom Caswell

Writer // Musician // Traveller

mermaidmaehem

The Fire-breathing Mermaid

joelmurrauthor

Joe L. Murr

AshEdit—News About Books & Writers

News about books and writers by Elaine Ash

Brian Hunter

Information about and writings by author, Brian Hunter.

MULTIGLOM

The Anne Billson blog

everythingnoir

Movies, Television, Books....Everything Noir

S.W. Lauden

Crime + Mystery + Interviews

Aida Manduley, MSW

presenter | therapist| educator | activist

I Love Dulcie

Erotic series for lovers of sexy cheating wives and sexual awakenings

Tantra Bensko's Genre Fiction

A writing Instructor muses on the adventure of following Genre to its edges

SOMETHING IS GOING TO HAPPEN

The editor of EQMM and guests blog about suspense, short stories, and the mystery-fiction scene.

Ryter Rong

The life of a writer.

Michael Pool

Neo Noir and Crime Fiction Author

